The Seven Chakras

The following are very basic descriptions of the Chakras. The Body Electric form of Tantra is very sensual. The sensuality includes the entire body in a nurturing, spiritually respectful way. A Chakra is, essentially, an erotic meridian much like the points on the foot a Reflexologist relates to major organs. The energy released is called Kundalini, a Sanskrit word for "coiled," often called “fire snake” or "serpent power." It's described as an energy waiting to be called to life, generally thought to reside at the base of the spine. We awaken this energy through breathing and touch. It enlivens the Chakras as it increases. The concept has many points in common with Chinese theories of acupuncture.

One can spend a lifetime studying the history and principles of Tantra. It's fascinating, confusing and often conflicting, as most religious teachings and belief structures are. For our purposes, we'll consider its spirituality and not pin it to any religion, Guru or philosophy. How it affects the well being of the body and mind is what's important here. Each client's response is different. All are legitimate and viewed without judgment.

Root Chakra (Muladhara)

Primarily associated with stabilizing our physical existence.  Through this Chakra it is said we rid ourselves of insecurity and therefore develop confidence and security of mind.  This stability lays the foundations for our progression to a higher level of being.  Feelings of insecurity are believed to be the result of an under active root Chakra, whereas an over active one leads to arrogance resulting in greed and a preoccupation in materiality.

Belly Chakra (Svadisthana)

This Chakra is believed to be associated with our emotions, sexuality, and self gratification.  It connects us to others through feeling, desire and sensation. Ideally this Chakra brings us fluidity and grace, depth of feeling, sexual fulfillment, and the ability to accept change.

Solar Plexus Chakra (Manipura)

This Chakra is known as the power Chakra, located in the solar plexus, it is said to rule our personal  will and feelings of autonomy, as well as our metabolism. When healthy, this Chakra is believed to bring us energy, effectiveness, spontaneity, and non-dominating power.   Some even claim clairvoyant ability is activated through this Chakra, although many disagree.

Heart Chakra (Anahata)

This Chakra is said to be concerned with developing compassion and empathy in an individual.  It is also believed to be the point at which opposites in the psyche become balanced (e.g. mind and body, masculinity and femininity, love and hate etc.). Through this Chakra a more harmonious state of mind is gained so that one can empathize with others' dilemmas instead of simply resorting to hate and revenge.  One is able to give love more unconditionally, exert a calming influence on others, feel compassion, and experience a deep sense of peace and centeredness.

Throat Chakra (Visuddha)

Although associated with communication it is also associated with creativity and intuitiveness.  Through the development of our intuition we begin to enhance our creativity and by doing this we begin to finally balance the harshness of rationality and materiality.  Before we ask what creativity has to do with producing a higher state of consciousness we should note that a civilization cannot count itself as a great one unless it has a strong arts and cultural perspective.  How then can mankind, as a member of a cultured society, evolve themselves to their greatest without a similar perspective?  Developing an eloquence of being requires that our creativity be enhanced.  Our ability to communicate and express ourselves and even our ability to develop creative answers to complex problems are enhanced through this Chakra.

Brow Chakra (Ajna)

This Chakra is said to be associated with the deep inner level of being that we call the Spirit and the deeper part of our being that western traditions consider the subconscious or unconsciousAlso known as the brow Chakra or third eye center, it is related to the act of seeing, both physically and intuitively.  On activation it is believed we intuitively see the high aspects of existence.  Why we are here? What is the meaning of life?  All these questions become clear as we enter a new level of understanding.

Crown Chakra (Sahasrara)

This Chakra relates to consciousness as pure awareness. It is our connection to the greater eternal reality that lies beyond our finite existence.  In the Shat-chakra-nirupana it is said that this chakra releases a "stream of nectar like essence [verse 43]" and brings complete enlightenment.  It is also inferred that when this Chakra is activated one is released from being born into this karmatic world [verse 45].  It is also believed that supernatural ability is endowed on its user bringing the power of command to control ones own destiny and the ability to leave ones own body.